« THE EIGTH SEASCAPE »
"2.2 seconds in the water and the light"

In continuation of the series "Silent lights", the eighth landscape is an installation of photographs consists of 7 images shot one after the other in 2.2 seconds, and a "built" image that interrogates our relationship with reality and the notion of objectivity in photography.

7 images were taken July 5, 2013 at 11:10 am in the waters of Anse Noire in Martinique, the day after a heavy storm. These seven images are not the result of manipulation or trickery computer, they are all taken under water without staging, without movement of the photographer, and in natural light.

However, the eighth image of this installation is the result of computer manipulation. The 7 "real" images are superimposed in equal proportion. Manipulation aimed to "add" the images making up the underwater moment. But this eighth virtual landscape disorder perception. It seems as "real" than the previous, isn’t it?

Here is the question of the limits of our perception of time and light. Underwater, everything speeds up, the slightest variations in current, wind, clouds, brightness are exacerbated. Without photography, these variations of extreme delicacy would be imperceptible for us.
This eighth landscape causes he has a form of objectivity, summarizing 2.2 seconds of the interaction between water and light?

"2,2 secondes dans l’eau et la lumière"

Dans la continuité de la série « Silent lights », le huitième paysage est une installation de photographies composée de 7 images prises l’une à la suite de l’autre en 2,2 secondes, et d’une image “construite” qui interroge notre rapport à la réalité et la notion d’objectivité en photographie.

Les 7 images ont été prises le 5 juillet 2013 à 11h10 dans les eaux de l’Anse Noire en Martinique, le lendemain d’un violent orage. Ces sept images ne sont pas le fruit de manipulations ni de trucages par ordinateur, elles sont toutes prises sous l’eau, sans mise en scène, sans mouvement du photographe, et en lumière naturelle.

En revanche, la huitième image de cette installation est le fruit d’une manipulation par ordinateur. Les 7 images « réelles » y sont superposées en proportion égale. Une manipulation ayant pour but « d’additionner » les images constituant cet instant subaquatique. Mais ce huitième paysage virtuel trouble notre perception. Semble-t-il aussi « réel » que les précédents ?

Ici, se pose la question de la limite de notre perception du temps et de la lumière. Sous l’eau, tout s’accélère, les moindres variations du courant, du vent, des nuages, de la luminosité sont exacerbées. Sans la photographie, ces variations d’une extrême finesse nous seraient imperceptibles.
Ce huitième paysage, construit, en résumant ces 2,2 secondes d’interaction entre l’eau et la lumière, détient-il une forme d’objectivité ?